At its July 15 meeting, the EU Agriculture and Fisheries Council approved, among other questions, a mandate of the European Commission to hold talks with Ukraine on its joining a so-called Energy Community, as reported from Brussels.

The Energy Community Treaty which was concluded in July 2006 provides for development of intensive cooperation in energy area between the European Union and the South East European countries, Western Balkans in particular, a majority of which is deemed as potential EU candidates. The instrument covers a wide range of issues starting with creating a common energy market, approaching regulatory rules in energy area and finishing with achieving technological compatibility of energy networks and environmental protection standards.

With its yesterday's decision the Council of Ministers opened an avenue for the European Commission to holding negotiations on joining the Energy Community by Ukraine, Turkey and Moldova. According to the EU, enlargement of the Energy Community by means of these states will enhance the EU energy security, promote economic development of prosperity of the region's countries.

Спасибо за Вашу активность, Ваш вопрос будет рассмотрен модераторами в ближайшее время