Ukraine was granted observer status in the European Energy Community, together with Moldova, Turkey and Norway, at the Energy Community meeting on Friday in Skopje, Macedonia, Cabinet press office reported.

"The Treaty establishing the Energy Community came into force earlier this year and has been ratified by all Parties. It provides for a new framework for co-operation in the energy sector between South and East Europe and the European Community on the basis of EU energy related legislation. Its aim is to harmonise the functioning and development of the energy market in order to improve the security of supply for all citizens of the countries involved," EU Energy Commissioner Andris Piebalgs said.

As he stressed, observers can attain membership in the Community under the Treaty.


Спасибо за Вашу активность, Ваш вопрос будет рассмотрен модераторами в ближайшее время